Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Baltic states support Poland against EU sanctions

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Lithuania, Vilnius – The Baltic states, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, have confirmed their opposition to EU sanctions against Poland for alleged breaches to the rule of law.

“We would be against any punishments imposed on Poland; in this regard, all three Baltic countries think similarly,” said Latvian Prime Minister Māris Kučinskis during the joint press conference with his counterparts from Poland, Lithuania and Estonia on Friday, March 9.

The Latvian Prime Minister also explained that in his view the Polish government should continue negotiations with the EU executive. The Lithuanian Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis said that “one must encourage dialogue and seek a compromise solution”, adding that “we understand Poland, we understand its goals related to the reform of the justice system”.

As Hungary has also officially announced to oppose the sanctions and Bulgaria, which presides currently the EU Council, said to be even opposed to a vote on this matter, Poland is getting closer to six countries supporting it. According to the Article 7 of the Treaty on European Union, if 6 out of 28 state members do not support the sanction procedure, the latest can’t be launched by the European Council; and the Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki knows it.

Read about the reform of the justice and the conflict between Poland and the EU here!